Looking For Alaska [review]

Title: Looking For Alaska

Author: John Green

Page #: 221

Genre: YA

Thoughts:

Miles “Pudge” Halter goes to Culver Creek Boarding School hoping for an adventure and something completely different from his usually mundane life. He finds it in a group of kids and gets caught up in prank wars, secret drinking sessions, and investing in a smoking habit. The story is set up counting down from day 136 to a single event that changes Pudge’s life. After the event, the counting starts up again until it reaches back to 136.

I thought this book was written very well in the voice of an older teen and gave an honest portrayal of what high school is like. I’m glad that the book wasn’t censored just because it contained high school kids drinking or smoking or even swearing. It was refreshing to see characters that weren’t cookie-cut perfect or “good” but were pushing their more rebellious side.

I can’t say that I absolutely loved this book but it’s definitely given me something to think about when questioning my choices. I also probably appreciate this book so much more because John Green is one of the vlogbrothers and that automatically made this book much more appealing than it would have if I just saw it at a bookstore.

Writer’s Takeaway:

I really liked the way John Green set up the story by splitting the two halves of the book the way he did. I made sure to go back and check to see if 136 days before and after matched up. It was an interesting way to write the story and I feel it helped me sympathize more with Pudge on his mission to find out what happened. Also, I think this is probably the first book where I can actually remember all the minor characters and their little quirks without having to refer back to the book. I felt like I was immediately assimilated into the world of Pudge, Alaska, the Colonel, Takumi, and Lara.

Leave a Reply

