City of Glass [review]

Title: City of Glass [Book 3 of The Mortal Instruments]

Author: Cassandra Clare

Page #: 541 [WTF!]

Genre: YA Urban Fantasy

Thoughts:

I enjoyed reading the first book, “City of Bones”, and thought it had potential. The second book, “City of Ashes”, was interesting enough for me to get this third installment.

It didn’t really live up to my expectations (which weren’t that high in the first place).

I found myself thinking every ten pages with a groan, “Am I done yet?” I’m all for multiple point of views and switching up the scenery but I felt like once I adjusted to a scene with Clary and her problems then it would just abruptly end and pick up with Simon’s predicament then cliffhangered off to yet another scene. There was too much going on individually for me that I got frustrated.

Something that is really important to me when I’m reading is a connection with the main character. I didn’t feel that with Clary. In fact, I don’t think I really know what her personality is like. The girl is described as someone who is stubborn with a temper but maybe I was too annoyed with the length of the book or distracted by the angst flinging everywhere to notice.

I also felt like Max’s death was a huge waste of space and words. What does it accomplish except for everyone feeling bad about themselves? Why would Sebastian kill Max and not Isabelle? You could have cut out Max’s existence entirely and the story would have gone along fine.

And what is a 9-year-old kid reading Angel Sanctuary? Cassandra Clare, you do realize the manga portrays an actual incestuous relationship?

I DID like how we get more of the background of Shadowhunter history and the angels’ involvement. The original twists on biblical themes and the Jace’s sarcastic comments are probably the only reasons why I’ll continue reading the sequels–but I’m in no hurry.

Writer’s Takeaway:

– don’t write excessively long books that will annoy the reader

– give readers time to actually adjust to the scene and don’t frustrate them with cliffhangers

– villains are always bad is such an awful way to portray antagonists

– create a character that readers can actually connect with and make sure to inject some personality

– need more gay characters. period.

Leave a Reply

