Parasol Protectorate (2): Changeless [review]

Title: Changeless

Author: Gail Carriger

Page #: 374

Genre: Steampunk/Paranormal Romance

Thoughts:

I had fun with the first book. So much so that I thought I’d give the sequel a try. It delivered.

I think this might be the first steampunk book I’ve read so far. Usually I’m stuck in fantasy or sci-fi worlds.

Anyway, in this second book we have a little less romance but more mystery and adventure. Alexia must find out why certain areas are making any supernatural being revert back to their mortal self (of just disappear completely if you’re a ghost). I thought the history and the reason behind the whole mystery was actually quite well explained and thought out. It definitely sets things for the next book in the series (which I’ve already read as of this moment). You still get the sharp wit you’d expect from Alexia and a new companion as well.

The one thing that kind of made me annoyed was the ending. So yes, don’t read on if you don’t want to be spoiled upon.

Seriously. Stop reading.

I’m all for cliffhangers. . . .when they are still in the middle of story. NOT the end. It kind of makes me feel like I HAVE to get the next book to find out next. Which isn’t true. I can always go to Wikipedia and read the extended plot that someone has graciously written and pieced things together with other peoples’ reviews. Alexia gets pregnant and Lord Maccon believes she’s been unfaithful. THE END.

WTF. Did I mention he also pretty much insults her in every horrible way possible? Like seriously, WTF.

I don’t know, you’d think Lord Maccon would be a tad bit smarter to realize that maybe, just maybe, things would be different with Alexia because she is a preternatural? I just felt it kind of seemed out of character for him to just blow up like that.

Writer’s Takeaway:

I really wish I could write like Gail Carriger. Or even just think like Alexia. Damn. That would be so much fun. I love the way this book is written. Even when the situation calls for gravity, humor shines right through the pages. There is a whole sense of levity throughout the entire book that amuses me so much that I can’t put the book down.

Leave a Reply

