JUMP.

Here we go. I will be done with my chapter-by-chapter outline for Book 1 by Saturday night. Starting Sunday, I will be writing up the actual story. I’m excited because 1) this is the longest I’ve dedicated my time to a story idea and 2) I have a good feeling that because I got all the outlining done and know what’s going to happen the likelihood of me actually FINISHING is at about 90%.

My goal right now is to have two books ready to be sold by this Christmas. I figured that since everyone is buying e-readers, what better way to take advantage of the holiday season by slipping my own work in? My strategy is to price the books around $1.00 so people won’t feel like they’re taking a huge risk at buying my work but still can find something interesting to read.

Now, here’s the tricky part. I need to balance school with this writing project of mine. I have no doubt that I CAN do it. I’m not taking a heavy load of credits. I have more free time than ever before. So this is something I need to ask myself.

Do I really want this? I’m not just talking about writing for pleasure. I’m writing to actually publish. It’s a huge commitment and I can’t just quit in the middle. It’s going to be a lot of work and there will be times when I’ll feel like giving up BUT the benefits. The rewards. I’ll be able to write and be compensated. If I even get good enough, maybe I won’t actually have to get a real J-O-B. Would that make me happy?

The answer is yes. YES! I would love to be able to practice and hone my craft for the rest of my life. I would love to write stories reflecting on everything I see in this world. I would love to create something so awesome that people will feel a genuine connection with it. To inspire them. To make them happy. Laugh.

April 23, 2011. That is date I will finish writing my first book/rough draft. It will have to go through many revisions but I will have done it.

I want this. I want this so much that I’m scared if I don’t take action now there won’t be another chance like this again. I want to take my dreams and change them into a reality.

 

Leave a Reply

